Winner of Karl Norris Award 2019

The Karl Norris Award honours the unique contribution of Karl Norris as the internationally recognized founder of near infrared spectroscopy in the modern world. In contrast to the Tomas Hirshfeld Award, which is aimed at younger researchers, this award is aimed at researchers in the later stages of their career, with a sustained record of important contributions to near infrared (NIR) spectroscopy.

The selection of the KNA winner is done by ICNIRS President Advisory Committee. The winner for 2019 is Dr. Graeme Batten from Australia. Dr. Batten started his NIR career working for New South Wales (NSW) Agriculture, Yanco, Australia. He and his team were pioneers in developing NIR technology for rice and other cereal grains. He had been working intensively on using NIR on precision agriculture since 2000.

As Editor-in-Chief of JNIRS for 10 years from 2005, Graeme has dedicated body and soul to the continuing success of our journal. His feedback and teaching has helped many scientists around the world to get a successful paper published. ICNIRS warmly congratulates Graeme for his achievements and as the worthy winner of KNA 2019.