Council Management Committee

The Council Management Committee is responsible for the administration of all the business of the Council except when a General Meeting is in session. The elected members of the Council Management Committee (CMC) of ICNIRS consist of the Executive Members who form the Executive Committee, the Conference President for the current ICNIRS Conference, the Conference President for the next ICNIRS Conference  and three other members.

The CMC currently comprises the following:

  1. Executive Committee members (2021-2025)
    President: Soren Balling Engelsen
    President Elect: Dolores Perez Marin
    Immediate Past President: Tom Fearn
    Secretary: Sirinnapa Saranwong
    Treasurer: Peter Tillman
  2. Conference President for the current ICNIRS Conference
    Hongfu Yuan (2019-2021)
  3. Conference President for the next ICNIRS Conference
    Christian Huck (2021-2023)
  4. Other members
    Satoru Tsuchikawa (2019-2025)
    Benoît Igne (2019-2025)
    Jose Amigo (2021-2027)

Hongfu Yuan, Conference President for the current ICNIRS Conference (2019-2021)

Prof. Hongfu Yuan received a BSc in chemistry from Shandong University, China in 1981. He obtained a MSc and a PhD in applied chemistry from Research Institute of Petroleum Processing (RIPP), China in 1984 and in 1994, respectively. From 1984 to 2005, Prof. Yuan worked for Department of Analytical Research of RIPP. In 1998, he was appointed as vice chair of Department of Analytical Chemistry Research of RIPP, where he leads a research group of NIR technology for refinery. Prof. Yuan has worked in Chemometrics research, NIR instrument development and NIR application from 1993. He developed the first Chemometrics software in Chinese version in 1997. He is one of co-authors of the first Chinese monograph on near infrared spectroscopy in 2000. Since 2006, he has been a full professor of Collage of Material Science and Engineering in Beijing University of Chemical Technology (BUCT), China. In 2006, Prof. Yuan was appointed as chair of Department of Analysis and Testing of BUCT. From 2006, He has hosted the development of many kinds of dedicated analyzers using molecular spectroscopy combined multivariate analysis, including asphalt analyzer, online pulp analyzer, live silkworm pupae male and female sorting equipment. Prof. Yuan has beening the chair of the Chinses society for NIR Spectroscopy (CCNIRs) which was founded in 2009. He is country representative (for China) of the Asian NIR Consortium (ANC). Prof. Yuan is an editorial board member of the Journal of Spectroscopy and Spectral Analysis. He is a member of the Chinses Technical Committee for Standardization of Instrumental Analysis and Testing (SAC/TC481). He was appointed as Chief Scientist of Science Popularization in the Field of Analytical Chemistry-Spectroscopy of China Association for Science and Technology in 2018.


Christian Huck, Conference President for the next ICNIRS Conference (2021-2023)

Christian Huck obtained his doctorate in chemistry in 1998 from the University in Innsbruck, Austria. He is Full Professor in the University of Innsbruck, where he is currently vice-head of the Institute of Analytical Chemistry and Radiochemistry and head of the Spectroscopy Unit.

He is editor-in-chief for Spectrochimica Acta A (Elsevier) and NIR news (Sage), associate editor for Journal of Near Infrared Spectroscopy (Sage) and several others known journals in the broader field of analytical chemistry. In 2023 he will be chair to host ICNIRS 2023 international conference and is the current vice-president of the Austrian Chemical Society. During the last 15 years Christian received about 15 international awards including Tomas Hirschfeld. Christian has published more than 300 peer-reviewed manuscripts resulting in an h-index of 51 based on more than 9670 citations.


Satoru Tsuchikawa, CMC member (2019-2025)

Satoru Tsuchikawa graduated from the School of Agriculture and the Graduate School of Agricultural Sciences, Nagoya University, Japan, in 1987 and 1989, respectively. His academic career started in 1990 as an Assistant Professor at Nagoya University. He earned a Ph.D. in Agricultural Sciences from Nagoya University in 1998. In 2004, he was Professor at Nagoya University. Since 2016, he is Vice Dean at the Graduate School of Bioagricultural Sciences, Nagoya University. His main research area is the application of NIR spectroscopy to wood and various agricultural products. He has been involved in this sort of studies for over 25 years, and published more than 100 papers. He has won several awards, including the Buchi NIR Award (2003) and the PerkinElmer Award (2003). He is secretary-general of Asian NIR Consortium (2013 -) and Japan NIR Consortium (2011 -).

Email :

Benoît Igne, CMC member (2019-2025)

Benoît Igne has a master’s degree from Ecole d’Ingénieurs de PURPAN, Toulouse, France and a Ph.D. in Agricultural Engineering from Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, USA. He began working as a post-doctoral fellow and a program coordinator at the Duquesne University School of Pharmacy, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA. In 2014, he joined GlaxoSmithKline outside of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA. There, he led the development of process analytical technologies for the monitoring, development, and control of solid, liquid, and biopharmaceutical products. His main responsibility was to integrate Near-Infrared spectroscopic tools onto a continuous manufacturing line. In 2019, he moved to Boston, Massachusetts, USA, where he currently supports and develops the implementation and use of process analytics for a commercial drug product continuous manufacturing line. Benoît received the 2015 Eastern Analytical Symposium Award for Outstanding Achievements in Near-Infrared Spectroscopy. He has published over 40 peer-reviewed articles and several books and book chapters. He has been involved with the Council for Near-Infrared Spectroscopy since 2010 and was elected President from 2016 to 2020. Benoît has played various roles in the Society of Applied Spectroscopy including the Membership committee and the Speaker Tour program. Finally, he is the sub-committee Chair for ASTM 55.01, developing standards for the use of process analytics.

 Email :

Dr Jose Amigo, CMC member (2021-2027)

Dr. Amigo obtained his PhD (Cum Laude) in Chemistry from the Autonomous University of Barcelona, Spain. Since 2007, he has been employed at the Department of Food Science of the University of Copenhagen, Denmark and also as Guest Professor of the Federal University of Pernambuco, Brazil since 2017. Dr. Amigo’s research interests include NIR hyperspectral and multispectral image analysis in different research fields including Food production, pharmaceutical research, Forensic Sciences, etc. Moreover, he is involved in teaching Chemometrics with well-known PhD course such as Copenhagen School of Chemometrics. He has authored more than 140 publications (110+ peer-reviewed papers, books, book chapters, proceedings, etc.) and given more than 60 conferences and courses at international meetings. Dr. Amigo has supervised or is currently supervising several Masters, Post Docs and PhD students and he is an editorial board member of four scientific journals within Chemometrics, chemical imaging and analytical chemistry. In 2014, Dr. Amigo has receive the “Chemometrics and Intelligent Laboratory Systems Award” for his achievements in the field of Chemometrics. ICNIRS truly congratulates Jose for his achievement and as the winner of THA 2019.

Email :

Updated : 18 August 2023